Micronesia 1998

Micronesia Capital

According to Countryaah, the capital of Federated States of Micronesia is Palikir. In October 1982, the United States signed a Free Association Agreement with the island states of Marshall, Northern Mariana Islands and Micronesia, after which they were given control over their domestic policies, while the United States continued to take care of defense and security. In 1983, the treaty was ratified in both countries, and in October 1986, US President Reagan officially declared the administration of the superpower of Micronesia. However, the superpower retains responsibility for defense and foreign policy.

At the United Nations 46th General Assembly on September 17, 1990, Micronesia and six other states were included in the World Organization, whose membership rose to 166.

At the end of the year, Hurricane “Owen” destroyed the homes of 4,500 people and destroyed 90% of the crops.

At the March 1991 parliamentary elections, incumbent President John Haglelgam lost his party, thereby preventing him from running for the next presidential election. In May, Bailey Olter was elected new president.

In April 1992, the government declared a state of emergency to address the consequences of a severe drought. The following year, the country joined the IMF, which, according to President Olter, was part of a strategy to solve the problems created by the drought.

Micronesia Capital